Wava Banes Turner Henry

Wava Banes Turner Henry


Basic Tau Beta Sigma History

In 1939, Wava Banes Turner Henry (1920-2012) and two of her classmates had the idea to form a band sorority at Texas Tech University, and decided to approach their band director, D.O. Wiley, about it. Branched off of Kappa Kappa Psi, the official band fraternity, Tau Beta Sigma would "serve as an honorary service and leadership recognition society" but would especially "provide the important additional social, educational, and other positive experiences needed by women in the band," according to tbsigma.org.

So, on March 26, 1946, the first Tau Beta Sigma chapter was founded at Oklahoma State University. Since then, TBS has expanded to over 230 universities across the nation.


Official Sorority Symbols

  • Sorority Colors: White & Blue

  • Sorority flower: American beauty long stemmed rose (right)

  • official motto: "tau beta sigma for greater bands"

  • Official Mascot: The Turtle

  • sorority songs: national hymn, loyalty song, the affirmation

  • Alpha delta's district: North Central 


Tau Beta Sigma's Official Flag


1. Midwest - Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming.

2. North Central -  Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

3. Northeast - Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia.

4. Southeast - Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

5. Southwest - Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

6.  Western - Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

7. International - No one yet! :)

Seven Districts

Composing Tau Beta Sigma, seven districts across the country work together to support university bands and promote women in music.